Gypsyfestival

75 concerts – 13 tours – 2001-2019

  • Christian Fotsch founded 2001 the Oriental & Flamenco Gypsy Festival.
  • More then 30’000 fascinated visitors, 75 concerts in Switzerland and Germany
  • The last concert took place on 29th march in Zurich Volkshaus
  • Unfortunately, no further tours will be organized by Christian Fotsch
  • Organizers, Managers of festivals: Please contact me to book us: christian@ssassa.ch

Artists who participated from 2001 till 2019 at the Gypsy Festival:

Flyer Gypsyfestival 2001

2001

  • Flamencos en Route
  • Haissam Salah Eddine
  • Ssassa
  • Khaled Seif, Asmhan, Azaria, Maya, Sarina

Link zur Fotogalerie: ssassa.ch/gypsyfestival/galerie-2001/

2003

  • Flamencos en Route
  • Esma Redzepova
  • Ssassa
  • Arez
  • Asmhan, Sarina, Gamal Seif, Vera Zad

Link zur Fotogalerie: ssassa.ch/gypsyfestival/galerie-2003/

Gypsyfestival Flyer 2005_1

2005

  • Flamencos en Route
  • Dhoad
  • Ssassa
  • Arez
  • Assala Ibrahim & Badiaa Lemniai

Link zur Fotogalerie: ssassa.ch/gypsyfestival/galerie-2005/

Gypsyfestival 2007 Flyer 1

2007

  • Flamencos en Route
  • Dhoad
  • Ssassa
  • Esma Redzepova
  • Assala Ibrahim

Link zur Fotogalerie: ssassa.ch/gypsyfestival/galerie-2007/

GF_09_Flyer_rgb

2009

  • Romano Drom & Matilda
  • Dhoad
  • Ssassa
  • Leonor Moro
  • Ssassa
  • Aliev Bleh Orkestar
  • Assala Ibrahim & Gül

Link zur Fotogalerie: ssassa.ch/gypsyfestival/galerie-2009/

Gypsyfestival 2010 Flyer

2010

  • Romano Drom & Matilda
  • Dhoad
  • El Hiyam
  • Leonor Moro
  • Esma Redzepova
  • Assala Ibrahim

Link zur Fotogalerie: ssassa.ch/gypsyfestival/galerie-2010/

Flyer Gypsyfestival 2011

2011

  • Ida Kelarova
  • Esmeralda
  • Ssassa
  • Juan de Glorria
  • Schachlo, Ljuba, Nicole McLaren

Link zur Fotogalerie: ssassa.ch/gypsyfestival/galerie-2011/

GF13_flyer 1

2013

  • Romano Drom
  • Jerez Puro
  • Ssassa
  • Dhoad
  • Maryam Ribordy

Link zur Fotogalerie: ssassa.ch/gypsyfestival/galerie-2013/

GF14_Flyer A5_1

2014

  • Romano Drom
  • Juan de Gloria
  • Lalitades
  • Dhoad
  • Maryam Ribordy
  • Rosetta Lopardo

Link zur Fotogalerie: ssassa.ch/gypsyfestival/galerie-2014/

GF15_Flyer A5_1_600

2015

  • Sajeda Obied
  • Assala Ibrahim
  • Ssassa
  • Fatoumata Dembélé
  • Sotelo/Campanile
  • Rosetta Lopardo

Link zur Fotogalerie: ssassa.ch/gypsyfestival/galerie-2015/

Flyer Gypsy Festival 2016 mit Esma Redzepova

2016

  • Esma Redzepova
  • Ssassa
  • Flamenco Puro
  • Pat la Gadji & Maryam Ribordy

Link zur Fotogalerie: ssassa.ch/gypsyfestival/galerie-2016/

GF17_flyer_1

2017

  • Romano Ilo & Picy
  • Ssassa
  • Juan de Gloria
  • Dhoad
  • Kiryam Barakar

Link zur Fotogalerie: ssassa.ch/gypsyfestival/galerie-2017/

GF19_Flyer_sm.jpg

2019

  • Esma’s Band – Next Generation
  • Ssassa & Meryem
  • Buz
  • Jerez Puro
  • Ektaal

Link zur Fotogalerie: ssassa.ch/gypsyfestival/galerie-2019/

These formations were guests at the Gypsy Festival between 2001 and 2019:

Esma Redzepova
Esma Redzepova

The legendary “Queen of the Roma” Esma Redzepova, daughter of a shoe cleaner, has conquered the stages of the world with her unique voice and charisma in a dreamlike career. A sparkling firework of emotion and temperament, carried by virtuoso fanfares. Esma has been a very important part of the Gypsy Festival from the very beginning. Her very last concert in her long career was on November 13, 2016. A short time later, she sadly passed away.

Ssassa
Ssassa

With its innovative repertoire,  SSASSA invites you to a thrilling foray through the fascinating world of the Roma. The interplay of musicians from Macedonia, Serbia, Turkey and Switzerland shows their intensive engagement with traditional and modern music. Ssassa is an important link in between of different music bands performing at the festival. The formation of Ssassa has changed over the years.

Flamencos en Route
Gypsy Festival 2003 Manoli

The world-wide known dance company Flamencos en route brings the spirit of flamenco to life. The presence of the dancers and musicians lets the spirit of flamenc spark to the audience and awakens passion and longing. In modern and colourful costumes, the most Spanish of all dances is so to speak dusted off by the “Flamencos en route” without disenchanting him. Flamencos en Route were a milestone in the course of the Oriental & Flamenco Gypsy Festival.

Dhoad
Dhoad Gypsyfestival 2009 Ratna

Dhoad come from the Rajasthan desert in northwestern India. From the Thar desert come the first Roma, who have always moved from city to city as troubadours and musicians in order to entertain the people and the nobility. In this musically and spiritually fruitful earth, the musical craftsmanship is passed down from father to son, from generation to generation. Dhoad offer a spectacle based on this rich background with sapera dance, fakir show and captivating music. Dhoad has been a regular guest at the Gypsy Festival since 2003 and they have enriched it with their colourful culture.

Romano Drom
Gypsyfestival 2013 Romano Drom

Romano Drom is a legendary Hungarian Gypsy group. With three fantastic solo voices, traditional Roma percussion, guitar and dance, they play fiery songs from their childhood. Nyandi Matilda, a charismatic singer, captivates her audience with her unique voice. Accompanied by the swing-insoaked groove of the guitar, the quartet Romano Drom takes you into an enchanting world of Roma culture.

Arez
Mohammed Issa_8499 Arez

The Arabic group Arez is made up of international artists: Mohamed Issa from Paris is an emotional violinist and gifted singer, both interpretations of the classical songs of Egypt as well as vocal improvisations testify to great intensity. Abdul Kader Ghourani, who lovingly accompanies the blind fellow musician on tours, is a master of the enchanting oriental zither Kanun. Kamal and Taoufiq Essahbi tie together on the oriental rhythm carpet. There is a wonderful CD of Arez: Order by mail to christian@ssassa.ch

Aliev Bleh Okrestar
Aliev Bleh Orkestar

The Aliev Bleh Orkestar plays Balkan beats that inspire a growing international audience. With trumpet, clarinet, saxophone, tuba, tenor horns, tapan and darabuka, the ten musicians generate a rich sound that is full of joie de vivre. They offered a massive, unforgettable performance at the Gypsy Festival 2009 here in the picture together with Leonor Moro

Ida Kelarova
Ida Kelarova Oktett 062 Bild Claudia Zanvit

Ida Kelarova and Desiderius Dusad come from Czech Roma musical families, who have been expressing their culture in poignant songs for generations. With their charismatic, unmistakable voices and their immense tone, they tell of love, hope and joy. Together with four other musicians, they play beautiful Roma songs whose magical energy is considered jewels within Roma culture. Based on their rich tradition, they combine modern elements with their musical heritage. Gypsy Festival 2011

Esmeralda & Talisman
Esmeralda Talisman

Esmeralda & Talisman make new gypsy music: with violin, guitar, accordion and vocals, the three Russians virtuosically blend modern and traditional Roma sounds into an animated hurricane of music. They artfully combine Bulgarian music with swing jazz by the Sintis. The fiery temperament of tango is transferred to a declaration of love in bossa nova rhythms. The musicians take you on an exciting musical journey across the rich world of the Roma. When Schachlo dances to her fiery music, there is no stopping. Gypsy Festival 2011

Juan de Gloria
Gypsyfestival 2014 Juan Flamenco_0089ok
The Quadro Juan Mateo y Gloria Palos celebrates the Andalusian temperament and attitude to life: flamenco at its finest, spoken from the soul, pure and authentic! It is in the nature of the Gitanos that the two artists sing, dance as well as play rhythm as naturally. The two are accompanied by the gifted flamenco guitarist Miguel Soteo, who performed with Leonor Moro at the Gypsy Festival 2010. The Gitano singer and Palmas player Manuel Aguilar also impresses with his fiery and passionate art.
Sajede Obied
Gypsyfestival 2015 Sajeda 85

The legendary Gypsy singer ساجده عبيد (Sajeda Obied) from Iraq is hardly known to western audiences despite several million YouTube clicks. The power and beauty of her music lies entirely in her wildly melancholy voice. We are proud to have presented Sajede Obied and her band at the Gypsy Festival 2015. YouTube movies are watched diligently: Sajede Obied on YouTube

¡Jerez Puro!
Gypsyfestival 2016 Katja-Jorge AHE_8487

The group “Jerez Puro! celebrates the Andalusian temperament and attitude to life: flamenco at its finest! Jorge San Telmo from Jerez and the Zurich native Katja Campanile dance to the music of the gifted flamenco guitarist and singer Miguel Sotelo, accompanied by the world-famous tabla player Amrat Hussain. The quartet “Jerez Puro! and the musicians of the Gypsy Festival develop their own creative flamenco style with oud, trumpet and darabuka.

Fatoumata Dembélé
Gypsyfestival 2015 Fatoumata Démbélé 24

Fatoumata Dembélé, Griot singer and dancer from Burkina Faso and Mali, has been touring the world with the group Farafina since 1999. At the Gypsy Festival, her vibrating voice is carried by the balafon playing of the Griot musician Mambourou Diarra, the Senegalese kora player Nana Cissokhos, as well as by all the musicians involved in the festival.

Ektaal
Ssassa Ektaal Pressefoto

Flamenco Ektaal, a sub-formation of SSASSA with Amrat Hussain, Miguel Sotelo and Christian Fotsch, takes you into the fascinating world of the Ecteal, an Indian 12/16 rhythm that Romas brought to Spain many hundred years ago it is the basis of the Buleria and other flamenco rhythms in 12/16 bars. The journey begins in Andalusia, leads through Skopje and Istanbul, where flamenco rhythms have long enriched Balkan music, to Jajpur in Rajasthan, the cradle of the Roma.

Special thanks to these solo artists who were guests at the Gypsy Festival between 2001 and 2019:

Amrat Hussain
Amrat Hussain

Amrat Hussain has played a key part in shaping the Gypsy Festival since 2005 with his wonderful tabla play and musical ideas. Amrat Huassain on FaceBook

Migel Sotelo Gallego
Miguel Sotelo Gallego

Miguel Sotelo Gallego is also one of the musicians who has played a key part in shaping the Gypsy Festival since 2007 with his wonderful guitar playing and flamenco singing. Miguel Sotelo Gallego on FaceBook

Assala Ibrahim
Gypsy Festival 2007

Assala Ibrahim has been performing at the Gypsy Festival since 2003. With her great artistic and dance power, she has repeatedly given the project a new impulse. Assala Ibrahim on FaceBook

Christian Fotsch
Christian Fotsch, Miguel Sotelo Gallego

Christian Fotsch founded the Oriental & Flamenco Gypsy Festival in 2001. Christan Fotsch on FaceBook

Interview, September 1st, 2011, with Christian Fotsch and Nicole Trossmann

Mr. Fotsch, the largest Gypsy festival in Switzerland has been in existence for 10 years. What is different this year?

The new program stands out with a gala line-up from all previous Gypsy festivals: The Czech Roma singer Ida Kelarova with her eight-piece Gypsy Swing Orchestra will be able to inspire the audience. Esmeralda and “Talisman” from Russia, the flamenco ensemble Juan de Gloria, three fantastic Oriental dancers from Uzbekistan, Tibet and Switzerland as well as the Macedonian-Swiss quintet Ssassa are also present. More than 20 musicians and dancers from 6 nations will offer a raucous celebration.

How did you even come up with the idea of setting up a gypsy festival in this country?

It was an old dream of mine to bring together the diversity of fascinating gypsy cultures in one concert evening, to offer them a platform and to create new fusions together with other groups. What resulted from this every year is magnificent! An experience for which it is definitely worthwhile to leave the good room. They themselves not only initiated the festival, but also at Ssassa also played along themselves. A difficult double role? Not at all, I love the challenge. To set up such a festival is hard bone work. But when all 20 artists stand on stage and give one last encore, this means pure joy of life!

How has the festival changed in the 10 years since its inception?

While at the 1st concert in the sold-out Congress House Zurich there was still a lot on shaky feet, the “Oriental & Flamenco Gypsy Festival” has now grown on all levels. Now I am very much looking forward to the new tour, which takes us through 5 Swiss cities.

Switch The Language
    Cart
    X

Gypsyfestival

75 Konzerte – 13 Tourneen – 2001 bis 2019

  • Gründung: Christian Fotsch gründete 2001 das Oriental & Flamenco Gypsy Festival.
  • Über 30’000 begeisterte BesucherInnen, 75 Konzerte in der ganzen Schweiz und in Deutschland
  • Das Gypsy Festival wurde zum festem Bestandteil des Schweizer Kulturlebens, farbig, wild!
  • Ein krönendes Abschlusskonzert fand am 29. März 2019 im Volkshaus Zürich statt.
  • Es geht weiter, in neuer Form, mit neuen Kombinationen wie Roma, afrikanisch, Jodelgesang…
  • Fortsetzung im kleineren Rahmen, mit der selben Idee, verschiedene Kulturen zusammen zu bringen, Neues zu gestalten!
  • Liebe Veranstalter: Wir freuen uns auf Eure Kontaktnahme: christian@ssassa.ch

Diese Formationen und KünstlerInnen waren zwischen 2001 und 2019 zu Gast am Gypsy Festival:

Flyer Gypsyfestival 2001

2001

  • Flamencos en Route
  • Haissam Salah Eddine
  • Ssassa
  • Khaled Seif, Asmhan, Azaria, Maya, Sarina

Link zur Fotogalerie: ssassa.ch/galerie-2001/

2003

  • Flamencos en Route
  • Esma Redzepova
  • Ssassa
  • Arez
  • Asmhan, Sarina, Gamal Seif, Vera Zad

Link zur Fotogalerie: ssassa.ch/galerie-2003/

Gypsyfestival Flyer 2005_1

2005

  • Flamencos en Route
  • Dhoad
  • Ssassa
  • Arez
  • Assala Ibrahim & Badiaa Lemniai

Link zur Fotogalerie: ssassa.ch/galerie-2005/

Gypsyfestival 2007 Flyer 1

2007

  • Flamencos en Route
  • Dhoad
  • Ssassa
  • Esma Redzepova
  • Assala Ibrahim

Link zur Fotogalerie: ssassa.ch/galerie-2007/

GF_09_Flyer_rgb

2009

  • Romano Drom & Matilda
  • Dhoad
  • Ssassa
  • Leonor Moro
  • Ssassa
  • Aliev Bleh Orkestar
  • Assala Ibrahim & Gül

Link zur Fotogalerie: ssassa.ch/galerie-2009/

Gypsyfestival 2010 Flyer

2010

  • Romano Drom & Matilda
  • Dhoad
  • El Hiyam
  • Leonor Moro
  • Esma Redzepova
  • Assala Ibrahim

Link zur Fotogalerie: ssassa.ch/galerie-2010/

Flyer Gypsyfestival 2011

2011

  • Ida Kelarova
  • Esmeralda
  • Ssassa
  • Juan de Glorria
  • Schachlo, Ljuba, Nicole McLaren

Link zur Fotogalerie: ssassa.ch/galerie-2011/

GF13_flyer 1

2013

  • Romano Drom
  • Jerez Puro
  • Ssassa
  • Dhoad
  • Maryam Ribordy

Link zur Fotogalerie: ssassa.ch/galerie-2013/

GF14_Flyer A5_1

2014

  • Romano Drom
  • Juan de Gloria
  • Lalitades
  • Dhoad
  • Maryam Ribordy
  • Rosetta Lopardo

Link zur Fotogalerie: ssassa.ch/galerie-2014/

GF15_Flyer A5_1_600

2015

  • Sajeda Obied
  • Assala Ibrahim
  • Ssassa
  • Fatoumata Dembélé
  • Sotelo/Campanile
  • Rosetta Lopardo

Link zur Fotogalerie: ssassa.ch/galerie-2015/

Flyer Gypsy Festival 2016 mit Esma Redzepova

2016

  • Esma Redzepova
  • Ssassa
  • Flamenco Puro
  • Pat la Gadji & Maryam Ribordy

Link zur Fotogalerie: ssassa.ch/galerie-2016/

GF17_flyer_1

2017

  • Romano Ilo & Picy
  • Ssassa
  • Juan de Gloria
  • Dhoad
  • Kiryam Barakar

Link zur Fotogalerie: ssassa.ch/galerie-2017/

GF19_Flyer_sm.jpg

2019

  • Esma’s Band – Next Generation
  • Ssassa & Meryem
  • Buz
  • Jerez Puro
  • Ektaal

Link zur Fotogalerie: ssassa.ch/galerie-2019/

Diese Formationen waren zwischen 2001 und 2019 zu Gast am Gypsy Festival:

Esma Redzepova
Esma Redzepova

Die legendäre “Königin der Roma” Esma Redzepova, Tochter eines Schuhputzers, hat mit ihrer einzigartigen Stimme und charismatischen Ausstrahlung in einer traumhaften Karriere die Bühnen der Welt erobert. Ein sprühendes Feuerwerk voller Emotionen und Temperament, getragen von virtuosen Fanfaren. Esma hat das Gypsy Festival von Anfang an geprägt. Ihr allerletztes Konzert in ihrer langen Karriere gab sie am 13. November 2016. Wenig später ist sie leider verstorben.

Ssassa
Ssassa

Die Gruppe SSASSA lädt mit ihrem innovativem Repertoire zu einem mitreissenden Streifzug durch die faszinierende Welt der Roma ein. Im Zusammenspiel der Musiker aus Mazedonien, Serbien, der Türkei und der Schweiz zeigt sich ihre intensive Auseinandersetzung mit traditioneller und moderner Musik. Ssassa bilden die Kernformation des Festivals. Tänzerisch umgesetzt wird die Ssassa-Musik durch die einzigartige Tanzperformance von Assala Ibrahim, bei der klassisch orientalische und moderne Elemente fusionieren. Die Formation von Ssassa hat sich über die Jahre verändert.

Flamencos en Route
Gypsy Festival 2003 Manoli

Mit der europaweit bekannten Tanzcompagnie Flamencos en route wird der Geist des Flamenco lebendig. Die Präsenz der Tänzerinnen und Musiker lässt die Funken bis zum Publikum sprühen und erweckt Leidenschaft und Sehnsucht. In modernen, schlanken und farbenfrohen Kostümen wird der spanischste aller Tänze von den “Flamencos en route” sozusagen entstaubt, ohne ihn zu entzaubern. Flamencos en Route waren ein Meilenstein im Werdgang vom „Oriental & Flamenco Gypsy Festival“.

Dhoad
Dhoad Gypsyfestival 2009 Ratna

Dhoad kommen aus der rajasthanischen Wüste im Nordwesten Indiens. Aus der Wüste Thar entstammen die ersten Roma, welche seit jeher als Troubadouren und Musiker von Stadt zu Stadt ziehen, um Volk und Adel zu unterhalten. In dieser musikalisch und spirituell fruchtbaren Erde wird das musikalische Kunsthandwerk von Vater zu Sohn, von Generation zu Generation weitergegeben. Dhoad bieten ein auf diesem reichen Hintergrund basierendes Spektakel mit Sapera-Tanz, Fakir-Show und fesselnder Musik. Dhoad waren seit 2003 immer wieder zu Gast am Gypsy Festival und sie haben es mit ihrer farbenfrohen Kultur sehr bereichert.

Romano Drom
Gypsyfestival 2013 Romano Drom

Romano Drom ist eine legendäre ungarische Gypsy Gruppe. Mit drei fantastischen Solostimmen, traditioneller Roma- Perkussion, Gitarre und Tanz spielen sie feurige Lieder aus ihrer Kindheit. Nyandi Matilda, eine charismatische Sängerin, zieht mit ihrer einzigartigen Stimme ihr Publikum in den Bann. Begleitet vom Swing durchtränkten Groove der Gitarre, mitreissender Instrumental- und Vocal-Perkussion entführt das Quartett Romano Drom in eine bezaubernde Welt der Romakultur.

Arez
Mohammed Issa_8499 Arez

Die arabische Gruppe Arez setzt sich aus internationalen Künstlern zusammen: Mohamed Issa aus Paris ist ein gefühlvoller Geiger und begnadeter Sänger, sowohl Interpretationen der klassischen Lieder Ägyptens wie auch Gesangsimprovisationen zeugen von grosser Intensität. Abdul Kader Ghourani, der den blinden Mitmusiker auf Tourneen liebevoll begleitet, ist ein Meister der bezaubernden orientalischen Zither Kanun. Kamal und Taoufiq Essahbi knüpfen zusammen am orientalischen Rhythmus-Teppich.
Es gibt eine wunderbare CD von Arez: Bestellung per Mail an christian@ssassa.ch

Aliev Bleh Okrestar
Aliev Bleh Orkestar

Das Aliev Bleh Orkestar spielt Balkan-Beats, der eine wachsende internationale Zuhörerschaft begeistert. Mit Trompete, Klarinette, Saxofon, Tuba, Tenorhörnern, Tapan und Darabuka generieren die zehn Musiker einen satten Sound, der vor Lebensfreude strotzt. Sie boten einen wuchtigen, unvergesslichen Aufritt am Gypsy Festival 2009 – hier im Bild zusammen mit Leonor Moro

Ida Kelarova
Ida Kelarova Oktett 062 Bild Claudia Zanvit

Ida Kelarova und Desiderius Dužda stammen aus tschechischen Roma-Musikerfamilien, welche seit Generationen ihre Kultur in ergreifenden Liedern ausdrückt. Mit ihren charismatischen, unverwechselbaren Stimmen und ihrem immensen Tonumfang erzählen sie von Liebe, Hoffnung und Freude. Mit vier weiteren Musikern spielen sie wunderschöne Romalieder, deren magische Energie innerhalb der Romakultur als Juwelen gelten. Basierend auf ihrer reichen Tradition verbinden sie moderne Elemente mit ihrem musikalischen Erbe. – Gypsy Festival 2011

Esmeralda & Talisman
Esmeralda Talisman

Esmeralda & Talisman machen neue Zigeunermusik: Mit Geige, Gitarre, Akkordeon und Gesang verschmelzen die drei Russen virtuos moderne sowie traditionelle Romaklänge zu einem beseelten Orkan der Musik. Kunstvoll verknüpfen sie bulgarische Musik mit Swing- Jazz der Sintis. Das feurige Temperament des Tangos geht über in eine Liebeserklärung in Bossa-Nova-Rhythmen. Die Musiker entführen auf eine spannende Musikreise quer durch die reiche Welt der Roma. Wenn Schachlo zu ihrer feurigen Musik tanzt gibt es kein Halten mehr. – Gypsy Festival 2011

Juan de Gloria
Gypsyfestival 2014 Juan Flamenco_0089ok

Das Quadro Juan Mateo y Gloria Palos zelebriert das andalusische Temperament und Lebensgefühl: Flamenco vom Feinsten, aus der Seele gesprochen, pur und authentisch! Es liegt in der Natur der Gitanos, dass die beiden Künstler ebenso selbstverständlich singen, tanzen wie auch Rhythmus spielen. Begleitet werden die beiden vom begnadeten Flamencogitarristen Miguel Soteo, welcher am Gypsy Festival 2010 mit Leonor Moro zusammen auftrat. Auch der Gitano-Sänger und Palmas-Spieler Manuel Aguilar überzeugt durch seine feurige und leidenschaftliche Kunst.

Sajede Obied
Gypsyfestival 2015 Sajeda 85

Die legendäre Gypsy Sängerin ساجده عبيد (Sajeda Obied) aus dem Irak ist trotz etlichen Millionen Youtube-Klicks dem westlichen Publikum kaum bekannt. Die Kraft und Schönheit ihrer Musik liegt ganz in ihrer wild-melancholischen Stimme. Wir sind stolz, Sajede Obied und ihre Band am Gypsy Festival 2015 präsentiert haben zu dürfen. Die YouTube-Filme werden fleissig angeschaut: Sajede Obied auf YouTube

¡Jerez Puro!
Gypsyfestival 2016 Katja-Jorge AHE_8487

Die Gruppe ¡Jerez Puro! zelebriert das andalusische Temperament und Lebensgefühl: Flamenco vom Feinsten! Jorge San Telmo aus Jerez und die Zürcherin Katja Campanile tanzen zur Musik des begnadeten Flamenco- Gitarristen und Sängers Miguel Sotelo, begleitet vom weltbekannten Tablaspieler Amrat Hussain. Das Quartett ¡Jerez Puro! und die Musiker des Gypsy Festivals entwickeln mit Oud, Trompete und Darabuka einen eigenen, kreativen Flamenco-Stil.

Fatoumata Dembélé
Gypsyfestival 2015 Fatoumata Démbélé 24

Fatoumata Dembélé, Griot-Sängerin und Tänzerin aus Burkina Faso und Mali, tourt seit 1999 weltweit mit der Gruppe Farafina. Am Gypsy Festival wird ihre vibrierende Stimme getragen vom Balafonspiel des Griot-Musikers Mambourou Diarra, vom senegalesischen Koraspieler Nana Cissokhos, sowie von allen am Festival beteiligten Musikern.

Ektaal
Ssassa Ektaal Pressefoto

Flamenco Ektaal, eine Unterformation von SSASSA mit Amrat Hussain, Miguel Sotelo und Christian Fotsch, entführt in die faszinierende Welt des Ektaal, einen indischen 12/16 Rhythmus, den Romas vor vielen hundert Jahren nach Spanien mitgebracht haben – er ist die Basis der Buleria und anderen Flamenco- Rhythmen im 12/16 Takt. Die Reise beginnt in Andalusien, führt über Skopje und Istanbul, wo Flamenco-Rhythmen schon seit langem die Balkanmusik bereichern, bis hin nach Jajpur in Rajasthan, der Wiege der Roma.Sajede Obied auf YouTube

¡Jerez Puro!
Ssassa Am Gypsy Festival

Die Gruppe ¡Jerez Puro! zelebriert das andalusische Temperament und Lebensgefühl: Flamenco vom Feinsten! Jorge San Telmo aus Jerez und die Zürcherin Katja Campanile tanzen zur Musik des begnadeten Flamenco- Gitarristen und Sängers Miguel Sotelo, begleitet vom weltbekannten Tablaspieler Amrat Hussain. Das Quartett ¡Jerez Puro! und die Musiker des Gypsy Festivals entwickeln mit Oud, Trompete und Darabuka einen eigenen, kreativen Flamenco-Stil.

Speziellen Dank an diese EinzelkünstlerInnen, die zwischen 2001 und 2019 zu Gast waren am Gypsy Festival:

Amrat Hussain
Amrat Hussain

Amrat Hussain hat mit seinem wunderbaren Tablaspiel und seinen musikalischen Ideen das Gypsy Festival seit 2005 massgeblich mitgestaltet. Amrat Huassain auf FaceBook

Migel Sotelo Gallego
Miguel Sotelo Gallego

Miguel Sotelo Gallego ist ebenso einer der Musiker, der das Gypsy Festival seit 2007 massgeblich mitgestaltet hat mit seinem wunderbaren Gitarrenspiel und seinem Flamencogesang. Miguel Sotelo Gallego auf FaceBook

Assala Ibrahim
Gypsy Festival 2007

Assala Ibrahim tritt am Gypsy Festival seit 2003 auf. Mit ihrer grossen, künstlerischen und tänzerischen Kraft hat sie dem Projekt immer wieder einen neuen Impuls gegeben. Assala Ibrahim auf FaceBook

Christian Fotsch
Christian Fotsch, Miguel Sotelo Gallego

Christian Fotsch hat im Jahr 2001 das „Oriental & Flamenco Gypsy Festival“ gegründet. Christan Fotsch auf FaceBook

Interview vom 1. 9. 2011, mit Christian Fotsch sprach Nicole Trossmann

Herr Fotsch, das grösste Gypsyfestival der Schweiz besteht schon seit 10 Jahren. Was ist heuer anders?
Das neue Programm hebt sich mit einer Galabesetzung von allen bisherigen Gypsyfestivals deutlich ab: Allen voran wird die tschechische Romasängerin Ida Kelarova mit ihrem achtköpfigen Gypsy-Swing- Orchester das Publikum zu begeistern wissen. Mit von der Partie sind Esmeralda und „Talisman“ aus Russland, das Flamenco Ensemble Juan de Gloria, drei fantastische Orientalisch-Tänzerinnen aus Usbekistan, Tibet und aus der Schweiz sowie das mazedonisch-schweizerische Quintett Ssassa. Über 20 Musiker und Tänzerinnen aus 6 Nationen werden ein rauschendes Fest bieten.

Wie kamen Sie überhaupt auf die Idee, hierzulande ein Zigeunerfestival auf die Beine zu stellen?
Es war ein alter Traum von mir, die Vielfalt der faszinierenden Zigeunerkulturen an einem Konzertabend zusammenzuführen, ihnen eine Plattform zu bieten und gemeinsam mit anderen Gruppen neue Fusionen zu kreieren. Was daraus jedes Jahr resultierte, ist grandios! Ein Erlebnis, für welches es sich definitiv lohnt, die gute Stube zu verlassen.

Sie selber initiierten das Festival nicht nur, sondern spielen – bei Ssassa – auch gleich selber mit. Eine schwierige Doppelrolle?
Überhaupt nicht, ich liebe die Herausforderung. Ein solches Festival auf die Beine zu stellen, bedeutet zwar harte Knochenarbeit. Wenn dann jedoch alle 20 Künstler auf der Bühne stehen und eine letzte Zugabe geben, bedeutet dies Lebensfreude pur!

Wie veränderte sich das Festival in den 10 Jahren seit seinen Anfängen?
Während am 1. Konzert im ausverkauften Kongresshaus Zürich noch einiges auf wackligen Füssen stand, ist das „Oriental & Flamenco Gypsy Festival“ nun auf allen Ebenen gewachsen. Nun freue ich mich riesig auf die neue Tournee, welche uns durch 5 Schweizer Städte führt.

Switch The Language
    Warenkorb
    X